Skip to main content

NSD Police Department

Safety & Security

Police Department

Neosho Police Department


Ofc. Matt Terry, Ofc. Zaccary Sweet, Sgt. Timothy Lewis and Chief of Police Ryan West



Beginning August 2023, the Neosho School District employed and commissioned its own certified police department, making it the sixth school district in the state of Missouri. NSD joined the ranks with Blue Springs, Dunklin, Nixa, Springfield and Willard schools to employ its own police department.

The Neosho School District Police Department is composed of Chief of Police Ryan West, Sgt. Timothy Lewis, Ofc. Matt Terry and Ofc. Zaccary Sweet.

The purpose of bringing the department internally was to continue to prioritize the safety and well-being of NSD students and staff by providing a safe and secure learning environment throughout the school district.

The officers have law enforcement responsibilities for all Neosho School District’s buildings and properties, which also includes athletic facilities, school buses and any functions where Neosho students may be participating.

The NSDPD will work closely with the City of Neosho Police Department and Newton County Sheriff's Office when specific crimes fall out of NDSPD’s jurisdiction.